Monday, Jan.16, 2017

I am finally getting back to ‘normal’.  If there is a normal out there.

The holidays are past, along with the birthdays.  It has been a busy few weeks for me.

I hope you have had good times and all is well with you and yours.

This past week I worked with my student on her quilt.  We are almost done.  The backing is on and it is quilted.  Soon we will put on the binding.  Since school starts back up for her tomorrow, I am not sure when that will be.  But we (the quilt and I) are ready for her.

I received some Mylar for Christmas, so I played a bit with it.  It will be fun finding new patterns that will work with the Mylar.  Here is an example of what I did.

The ones on the left have the Mylar in them, the upper right do not.  The bottom right is a pouch I made to keep the ‘Bats’ together.  They are earrings.  I found some earring hoops that you can change out.  So one pair of hoops for all of these bats.  These were made for my student.  She loved them.

My next major endeavor will be weaving kitchen towels that I hope to embroider on in the future.  This will be new for me.  I have a 36″ wide 8 shaft loom that has been calling me for a while now.  I hope to prepare the loom today and maybe start warping it tomorrow.  I have been weaving since 2005.  I have made table clothes (used at a wedding reception, kitchen towels, wall hangings, bathroom curtains, serapes, shawls, and numerous baby blankets to name a few projects.

 

May the Lord bless and keep you now and always.

See you next week and I will show you how far I have made it in my weaving.

 

Leave a Reply

